Main content start
Header Banner

About ASPC







Association of Sport Performance Centres (ASPC)

Background of the ASPC

  • The Association of High Performance Centres (ASPC) formerly the International Association of High Performance Sports Training Centres (IAHPSTC) was founded in 1999, with the goal of uplifting elite sport by providing opportunities for Olympic Training Centre and High Performance Centres leadership to network and share best practice principles.

  • The Association has grown substantially and now boasts over 100 member Centres from 7 Continents. Since 2009, Hong Kong Sports Institute became a member of ASPC.

  • The ASPC has established a Secretariat in Catalonia, Spain, hosted at the Centre d’Alt Rendiment de Sant Cugat del Valles, Barcelona.


ASPC Intro

ASPC Overview and History


ASPC Mission and Vission

ASPC Mission: To provide opportunities that enhance training for high performance sport worldwide.

ASPC Vision: ASPC is an active partner with development and leadership of sport training centres, setting the standard in the global high performance training site community.

  • Collaboration: We will enhance relationships at every opportunity
  • Excellence: We will continually seek, to do and be, better
  • Respect: We will treat everyone with care and concern
  • Responsibility: We will be answerable and accountable


Background of International Forum on Elite Sport

  • The ASPC has hosted the International Forum on Elite Sport every two years since 1999.
  • The goal of the biennial forum is to explore ways to better collaborate across the world, to provide an opportunity for sharing of best practices and for professional development of the leaders of high performance training centres.
  • The biennial forums have been held on ten occasions.  The year and location of each forum is listed in the following table.


Episode Year Location
I 1999 Sydney, Australia (Before the formal establishment of the ASPC)
II 2001 Barcelona, Spain
III 2003 Loughborough, England
IV 2005 Montreal, Canada
V 2007 Beijing, China
VI 2009 Colorado Springs, USA
VII 2011 Paris, France
VIII 2013 Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
IX 2015 San Juan, Puerto, Rico
X 2017 Durban, South Africa
XI 2019 Barcelona, Spain
XII 2024 (New date after postponement) Hong Kong, China
XIII 2023 Paris, France